Using the Caltech VPN Client on Mac

The following instructions assume you have a working Cisco AnyConnect client. If you haven't installed the client yet, links to instructions can be found on the right-hand menu.

Connecting with the AnyConnect Client

Mac OS X users will find the AnyConnect client in the Cisco folder located in the Applications folder.

Once you've selected the AnyConnect menu item, the client window will appear on the screen. The window will indicate that the client is ready to connect and the button will read Connect. Click on the Select button to begin connecting to the VPN.

The login dialog will appear on the screen. The Group drop down menu will appear. Click on it if you would like to select a different connection profile. When using access.caltech applications, please select the Group: 2- Tunnel- All -Traffic option. The Username field will be filled in with your username. The Password field will be blank. Enter your access.caltech password in the Password field and click on the Connect button.

After a few seconds, the connection will be established. The client window may disappear but the connection will remain active. AnyConnect will place an icon in the Menu Bar in the upper right corner.



Left click on the icon to bring up the AnyConnect client menu.



The Connect item should be dimmed and the Disconnect item active.

Choose Bring AnyConnect to Front to display the AnyConnect client window. You can see that the connection has been successful.

Testing the VPN Connection

You can test your VPNconnection to verify that it is working correctly. Click on this Caltech link. You should see that you have an IP address starting with 131.215.249.xxx. Then click on this DSLreports.com link. You should see that you have your normal IP address as assigned by your ISP (if using Tunnel-Caltech-Traffic-Only), or a Caltech IP address starting with 131.215.249.xxx (if using Tunnel-All-Traffic).

Disconnecting the AnyConnect client

 
To disconnect the AnyConnect client, on the lock icon in the System tray or Menu Bar.

 



If the client window is minimized, Disconnect and Quit will behave exactly the same. The VPNconnection will be terminated and the client program will quit. If the client window is not minimized, Disconnect and Quit behave differently. Disconnect will terminate the VPNconnection, but leave the client window on the screen. Quit will terminate the VPNconnection and close the AnyConnect client, removing the window from the screen.

You can also use the client window to disconnect the AnyConnect client. Choose Bring AnyConnect to Front from the menu if the client window is not already on the screen.

To disconnect the AnyConnect client, click on the Disconnect button.

The client window will remain on the screen. You can quit the AnyConnect client by clicking in the Close box of the window.

Preferences Settings

The AnyConnect client has several preference settings that can be adjusted. To see the Preferences window start the AnyConnect client and choose the Cisco AnyConnect VPN Client menu in the upper left corner of the screen.



Select the Preferences item.

In the Preferences window, there are four settings that can be changed.

The Connect on start-up item will launch the AnyConnect client as soon as you have logged into your computer.

The Minimize on connect option will cause the client to automatically minimize after it has successfully connected.

The Enable local LAN access allows the user to access local resources (such as a printer). You may want this if you are connecting from home, but turn it off while traveling.

The Auto reconnect option will attempt to reconnect to the VPNservice if a connection is dropped.

 

Updating the AnyConnect client

The AnyConnect client has an auto-update feature. When new versions of the client are released, the updated clients are placed on the VPNserver. Then, when a client connects, it checks to see if there is a newer version of the client. If a newer version is found, it will download the update and apply it. You may see a window like this when you connect:

If you see this window, wait for it to finish before doing anything else. Don't interrupt the process. The installer will finish the process and the connection will proceed as normal.

Deleting the AnyConnect Client

Mac OS X users can delete the AnyConnect client by double-clicking on the Uninstall AnyConnect icon in the Cisco folder, located in the Applications folder.